News

13 April 2018
We’ve decided to start a Kickstarter project to help fund our 2019 production year. If you’re interested in supporting the press, but don’t have the sixteen or eighteen bucks to purchase a copy of one of our books, then you can go here to pledge three, four, or five dollars. You can also pledge more to receive rewards (copies of our publications, a chance for a video interview with the editor, a sponsorship listing, etc.). The project runs from 13 April to 12 May, with a goal of raising $1000. We appreciate your support.

3 April 2018
We have three new announcements. First, we’ve decided to push the release date of The American Book of the Dead forward to 1 May 2018 (instead of 7 May). This coincides with the beginning of our open reading period. Additionally, rather than releasing each book digitally a month later, digital and print publication dates will coincide. So, on 1 May, The American Book of the Dead will be available in both versions. Last, and most important, go here to read an excerpt from Joseph D. Reich’s excellent poem.

17 March 2018
We had to chug through some irritating technical difficulties, but Hans Burger’s reading was a success, with an excellent selection from his novel In Some Sense Innocent and some intriguing questions from the audience. Check it out here.

14 March 2018
Head over to our Author Interviews page to see what Joseph D. Reich has to say about his upcoming publication The American Book of the Dead.

7 March 2018
Hans Burger’s novel In Some Sense Innocent is now available on a variety of eBook platforms for only $5.95. Go over to our Books page to place your order.

21 February 2018
The American Book of the Dead is now available for pre-order. Head over to our Books page to reserve your copy.

16 February 2018
Here’s the cover design of our upcoming publication The American Book of the Dead by Joseph D. Reich.

The American Book of the Dead Cover super small

Pre-orders of Mr. Reich’s epic poem will be available soon. Check back for updates.

7 February 2018
We’re pleased to announce the next publication of Xi Draconis Books, The American Book of the Dead by Joseph D. Reich. The American Book of the Dead is an epic poem, a manifesto full of guts and gusto for all long-lost souls on the road, a pamphlet of promise for the poverty-stricken and those put out for no particular reason, a postmodern sociological study, written in satire in the year of 2018, on a country who’s lost its individuality and identity, in five acts of stream-of-consciousness. The Hungry Chimera has called it “brutal and mesmerizing,” while Edify Fiction proclaims that it “assaults and assuages the senses.”

The official release date is 7 May 2018. The cover design and pre-orders will be available soon.

Joseph D. Reich is a social worker who lives with his wife and thirteen year old son in the high-up mountains of Vermont. He has been published in a wide variety of eclectic literary journals both here and abroad, been nominated seven times for The Pushcart Prize, and his books in poetry and cultural studies include “If I Told You To Jump Off The Brooklyn Bridge” (Flutter Press), “Pain Diary: Working Methadone & The Life & Times Of The Man Sawed In Half” (Brick Road Poetry Press), “Drugstore Sushi” (Thunderclap Press), “The Derivation Of Cowboys & Indians” (Fomite Press), “The Housing Market: a comfortable place to jump off the end of the world” (Fomite Press), “The Hole That Runs Through Utopia” (Fomite Press), “Connecting The Dots To Shangrila: A Postmodern Cultural Hx Of America” (Fomite Press), “Taking The Fifth And Running With It: a psychological guide for the hard of hearing and blind” (Broadstone Books), “The Rituals Of Mummification (Sagging Meniscus Press), “Magritte’s Missing Murals: Insomniac Episodes” (Sagging Meniscus Press), “How To Order Chinese During A Hostage Crisis: Dialects, Existential Essays, A Play, And Other Poems” (Hog Press), and “A Psychological Hx Of Charles Atlas” (Angry Old Man Press).

4 February 2018
Check out the first in our new series of video blogs here.

29 January 2018
For those interested, check out Patrick Barney’s interview with Sapling here.

26 January 2018
We’re happy to announce Hans Burger’s upcoming virutal reading at the University of Cincinnati. The reading will take place on 16 March 2018, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, in McMicken 205. If you live anywhere near Cincinnati, set the date aside for an evening of intellectual stimulation. The reading will feature an excerpt from Mr. Burger’s novel and a question and answer session afterwards. You can also meet Xi Draconis’ editor-in-chief, Patrick Barney, and purchase books from our line up. Light refreshments will be provided and anybody who wants may join the editor and his wife for dinner afterward. We hope to see you there.

Flyer for Reading

7 January 2018
It’s official: the release date for In Some Sense Innocent has arrived. Go to our Books page to get your copy.

14 December 2017
Black Lawrence Press will run a short feature on Xi Draconis Books in its weekly e-newsletter, Sapling Blog, on 8 January 2018. The feature will showcase an interview with Xi Draconis editor-in-chief, Patrick Barney. Head over here to purchase a subscription, or, if you’re patient, this website will post the feature on 22 January 2018.

7 December 2017
Check out an excerpt from Hans Burger’s In Some Sense Innocent here.

6 November 2017
We’ve conducted a video interview with Hans Burger, author of In Some Sense Innocent, the first publication of Xi Draconis Books. Check it out to get a deeper sense of the issues that Mr. Burger’s novel addresses, and (for potential submitters) of the tastes of Patrick Barney, editor-in-chief.

26 October 2017
Pre-orders of In Some Sense Innocent are available now! Copies will ship 7 January 2018. Head to the Books page to reserve your copy.

25 October 2017
Check out the cover design for Hans Burger’s novel In Some Sense Innocent:

In Some Sense Innocent Cove smallr

The release date for the print version of the book is 7 January 2018. Digital copies will be available for purchase two months later.

October 2017
Xi Draconis Books is excited to announce the upcoming release, in January 2018, of its first publication, Hans Burger’s novel In Some Sense Innocent.

In the tradition of Russell Banks and Mary Gaitskill, In Some Sense Innocent is a poignant and blackly funny story about isolation, despair, and redemption. It attempts to understand the intersection of sex and technology, one of the main pathologies of our age.

Twenty-three-year old Mark lives with his great-aunt in a retirement community, recovering from a troubled adolescence and a period of homelessness. He struggles to find a sense of purpose, counseling for a crisis hotline and assisting with the rehabilitation of sex offenders. When he meets Amanda, a single mother fleeing a violent ex, their relationship becomes the focal point of his life. But the suicide of one of Mark’s clients sets off a chain of events which threatens his newfound happiness. To keep his new life, he must find a way to overcome the psychic fallout of Amanda’s past, a friend’s betrayal, and the shadow of his own mistakes.

Hans Burger has a combined MA/MFA in Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He lives in the Seattle-Tacoma area of Washington state.

Cover art to follow soon!